The Electrophysical Forum aims to provide an interactive platform for questions, comments, discussion and opinion related to the use of Electro Physical modalities in therapy. It is supported by an Internationally renowned expert panel and a broad sphere of clinicians, researchers, educators and students. Active participation is welcomed.

Ask a question and get it answered by your peers and respected experts

Answer a question and be recognised, raising your international profile

Create a link to us from your website, blog or social media platform.

Interferential current caused burn over tattoo

I have been practicing for over 20 years and never had Interferential current cause a burn. My colleague had a patient with extensive tattoos, and was treating for pain daily with interferential current . Precautions and contraindications were explained and consent was given for treatment. The third week the patient said in the last 30 seconds of a 15 minute treatment he felt an stinging sensation and pulled off the electrode prior to turning off the machine. As a result a blister developed along a thin line of the tattoo. Subsequent examinations revealed a deep burn approximately 4 mm in size. My research revealed no findings of contraindications using electric modalities over tattoos. However, I did not realize that most tattoo inks have carbon, or other heavy metals that could conduct electric currents.

Any insights would be helpful.

Terry Redmond

2 months ago

Back to General Electrotherapy

Post a reply

wendy226
wendy226