The Electrophysical Forum aims to provide an interactive platform for questions, comments, discussion and opinion related to the use of Electro Physical modalities in therapy. It is supported by an Internationally renowned expert panel and a broad sphere of clinicians, researchers, educators and students. Active participation is welcomed.

Ask a question and get it answered by your peers and respected experts

Answer a question and be recognised, raising your international profile

Create a link to us from your website, blog or social media platform.

Does using electrical stimulation (i.e. TENS, or NMES) promote recovery, reduce pain, or improve functional mobility in post-operative hip fracture patients?

My name is Paul Davison and I am a physiotherapy Masters student at Queen's University in Kingston, ON Canada. As part of my degree, I am completing a scoping review on the efficacy of using electrical stimulation to promote better health outcomes in post-operative hip fracture patients.

Thus far, we have found that the literature is extremely limited as our analysis included only 4 journal articles after reviewing 432 citations. Our search criteria are available upon request. Results have demonstrated some significant positive results to support the use of electrical stimulation (especially for the purpose of pain management) with this population.

I am posting here as a means of reaching out to the community for any suggestions to help improve the strength of our review. This may include any research you are aware of, personal opinions or ideas, suggestions for future research, or anything else you would like to share.

I would just like to thank you for spending the time to read up on this project and offering any potential insight you may have!

Paul Davison

Paul Davison

2 months ago

Back to General Electrotherapy

Post a reply

Prof Alison Hoens
Prof Alison Hoens